HotHouse Creative Music Festival

The HOTHOUSE CREATIVE MUSIC FESTIVAL brings together many of the best musicians that have been featured on the long running critically acclaimed series JAZZ ON A SUMMER’S DAY presented by HotHouse., The acclaimed concert and performing arts series was formerly showcased in the Lakeside Inn. The death of the beloved owner last August prompted HotHouse to seek a new location for its series.

HotHouse chose the gallery and studio of artist Joe Hindley as the site for this year’s one day mini-festival. Hindley’s studio is in the converted Flynn Theater in downtown Sawyer, conveniently located in the epicenter of Harbor Country enchantments. The funky environs filled with Hindley’s murals, paintings of rural Michigan and noir street scenes will provide a great atmosphere for the music. The gallery is located adjacent to Fitzgerald’s restaurant and in front of the Sawyer Garden Center. Attendees at the Festival can sample fresh produce from the Center or patronize the many area restaurants and microbreweries.

This event is dedicated to the memory of Dev Bowly and Gynne Winsberg – two area residents that were long time supporters of HotHouse’s programming.

Over the course of the event, the artists will play in their own ensemble then mix it up in improvised combos. Audiences are invited to witness the spontaneous conversation between seasoned improvisers.  In fact, the point of the program is to provide opportunities to have access to a rather complex structure of music and an informal access to these talented musicians in a way that they might not otherwise experience.

Volcano Radar: Woodland Pattern

10730885_1487563248182386_2532217551772970215_n-1JazzO2 Elbio violaJazzO2 Rollo











Volcano Radar is thrilled to kick off the Alternating Currents Live spring concert series at Woodland Pattern Book Center in Milwaukee, on Sunday March 29 at 7pm.  Julia Miller and Elbio Barilari are joined by Rollo Radford, bass, and Ernie Adams, drums.

Ernie Adams

Fareed Haque’s Mathgames! Volcano Radar: Mayne Stage

19_Fareed-Haque-Math-GamesTwo of the more advanced bands in the Chicago scene playing music that breeches all musical borders and genres, both bands led by musicians with Latino roots.

MathGames! and Volcano Radar will play their own sets and will perform an improvised third set together; Volcano is joined by Rollo Radford, Tim Davis, and Edward Wilkerson Jr.  Gustavo Leone’s Chromalea will bridge the two bands.

10730885_1487563248182386_2532217551772970215_n-1JazzO2 Elbio violaJazzO2 Rollo Jazzo2 Elbioviola:Ed

Volcano Radar and Axiom Brass present “Diasporas”

axiom brass

Diasporas is a work-in-progress conceptual piece by Elbio Barilari and his music workshop, reflecting human history as a permanent trip. The first installment was presented in 2013 at the Chicago Public Library.The migrant experience throughout history was described through literary examples form different traditions, Indian, Jewish, Latin-American and Filipino put to music by Barilari.

Pianist/composer Andy Cohn, who also participated in the creative process will be again in charge of the keyboard. Guitarist Julia Miller, drummer Tim Davis, saxophonist Jim Gailloreto, bassist Rollo Radford will perform along Axiom Brass. Narrated by Yasen Peyankov.

10730885_1487563248182386_2532217551772970215_n-1JazzO2 Elbio violaJazzO2 Rollo